Taking a Step Away

If you’ve noticed, the site has changed quite dramatically from what it was before. And really, if you’ve ever been here before, you should have noticed. (How could you miss the animated banner?)  The blog is going to change. As of right now, I’m sketchy as to the details. I’ll probably keep the name, even though I’m moving away from RPG development, I’m still interested in XNA and should pay homage to what brought me here in the first place.

The XNA community is going strong and still growing. More people are getting involved. At the time I started this blog, there was likely a tenth of the people there are now. The “RPG Starter Kit” didn’t even exist; only three people were serious enough to take on the challenge of creating an XNA RPG from scratch. Now, there’s many more aspiring RPG creators, albeit much less serious. Tons of new people are joining the XNA community every day. But before this sounds like I’m excited, I’m not. With this influx, an even greater percentage could be called “noobs.” Not “newbie,” which generally refers to someone who just started, but “noob,” a person who’s been around long enough to know what’s what, but refuses to listen. The difference is that a noob is solely responsible for their lack of creativity and linearity when designing their XNA game. I’ve seen it before with the Halo modding community – too many people started worshiping veterans of the Halo modding realm, and, lacking any new ideas of their own, based all their projects (assuming they even did any) on their idol’s work. The result being the majority of custom halo maps are super-huge with ripped vehicles and total lack of playability. People don’t take the time to create their own content and steal others’. Flaming becomes rampant.

Until I’m reassured that this isn’t going to happen, I’m going to focus my efforts on VB .NET and XNA tutorials. Expect to see one up this weekend, probably about color blending. until next time…

~ by IG on April 6, 2009.

5 Responses to “Taking a Step Away”

  1. Nice post – I agree.

  2. I don’t agree. XNA isn’t a modding tool or anything like that. If people want to create their little demos or scraps, good for them. For my part, I do XNA to boost my portfolio.

    Don’t worry, “noobs” will never stay for long in XNA. What they want is rapid results and they won’t get it here.

  3. I’m not sure if what I’m doing makes me a “noob” or a “newbie”, but considering I have no institutional education in programming and a massive love for video games, the XNA framework feels like the perfect fit.
    Correct me if I’m wrong.

    • You don’t have to be either. XNA is supposed to attract people like you; you are Microsoft’s target audience. Being a “newbie” is not a bad thing, it just means you have little experience. Everyone’s been a newbie. I’m sorry if you interpreted my post as hostile; I was only making an informed conjecture based on specific games released on XBLCG and XNA forum topics, and my personal experience. Basically, I made this in response to the growing number of pointless remakes and copied gameplay found in the new XBLCGames that come out each week, cluttering up the database and making it strenuous to separate the good games from the bad without resorting to “Most Popular.” It’s time consuming to download all the trials of games that come out on XBLCG every week; normal people just don’t have the time. I’m trying to discourage and warn the “noobs,” referring to the people who release these awful games just because they paid $100, that they should think twice before whipping out a game onto the Marketplace. It’s no way to make money, and it’s not encouraging the average person to visit the Community Games section every week.

  4. I agree that lame games on XBLCG is bad. The quality inspection should be more serious. However, you can still use XNA to make Windows game. That’s what I do. I seriously can’t find any reason to downgrade to VB.NET. You’ll end up with no wrapper around DirectX. I don’t understand your move.

    You can do what you want and I don’t feel insulted, I’m just trying understand. Why not create an XNA Window game and release it on your own website?

    XBox is just a small % of the gaming community. Did you check how well AudioSurf and World of Goo did this year? There are rooms for good game out there.

    Do you mean VB.NET with managed DirectX or OpenGL? If you mean manually drawing shapes and pixels, I would tell you it’s not a good idea.

Leave a Reply

 
