Cumulative Update

It’s been a while since I’ve posted on here. There’s a slew of updates on both the editor and the game, but first, a new piece of art – in fact, the cover art of the game.

karma_phala_dev

I know what you’re thinking – wayyy too colorful. I know,  it’s unfortunate. But this is what’ll show up should this game ever be released on Community Games, should Community Games even exist at that point.

Besides that, I’ve posted a new snake game update, the second in a series of three (hopefully). This one includes commentary detailing the menu, gameplay changes, tutorial and multiplayer modes.

The next video will most likely be recorded using an actual video camera, seeing the final build of the game on 360 and multiplayer lan.

Lastly, I was hoping to upload a video on the progression of my tile engine, as it kinda has taken a backseat to this bullshit snake game over the past two months, but the video was too long and boring, so I decided to just be long and boring right now and type all the features in a long sentence of boringness; there are two major updates, the addition of a party following system ala Chrono Trigger and the addition of basic dialog support to the editor and engine, allowing textual information to be displayed via overlay in the game, w/o any interactive “conversational” elements, and finally, the progression of a new separate NPC movement program I’m in the planning stages of developing, which really means I haven’t started it at all yet, but will contribute to fully-functional NPCs after a conversational xml tree has been developed, leading up to the creation of the first few levels in the game.

Unfortunately, I haven’t been in contact with Nathan over the past few months, so I’m supposing he’s too busy to work on the project atm, and Ryan has proved useless, so he’s off the project. There have been changes outside the scope of this blog, however. My friend Daigo, who I’ve been contacting over the past half year, has moved on to work at Vicarious Visions, who develop Guitar Hero. His friend, who works at Square Enix (I know, connections, right?) has asked me through Daigo if he could have the source code to my rpg engine in XNA (either it’s hobby or Square is experimenting in XNA as a possible outlet for their infinite rpg projects and mooching off of me, I’m flattered anyway), and I have sent the code to him. I don’t know if he’ll get it to work or what, but I’m glad I could be part of it.

And finally, in addition to Daigo, I have been contacted by an undisclosed company to join their development team in XNA. Unfortunately, due to high school, I couldn’t take the job. It’s strange; I’m only 16, and I’ve been offered a job at a company, when people I correspond with are on the way to finishing college, and haven’t ever been given the opportunity to work in the business. There’s a moral here, that school can only take you so far – most of success in life has to be done separate from the educational system. It’s not about grades, it’s not about talent; it’s about persistence and individuality.

And that’s all for now.

~ by IG on February 28, 2009.

3 Responses to “Cumulative Update”

  1. It’s both. You need school too. There’s things that you can’t learn yourself and need the hard way. It’s true though that you NEED to have some ambitions and that you need to evolve by yourself.

    Good luck with your high-school. Your tile-engine is really good looking and I can see your spent a LOT of time working on it.

    I wish I had more time, I could help you out. I’ve been waiting to work on AI for weeks now. My engine don’t even have a clean collision detection.

  2. Thanks man, good luck on your engine!

  3. The Snake game looks great! I really like the improvements you made.

Leave a Reply

 
