Turkey Update

   So I’m away in Turkey right now, but I found there’s this little Edit button next to “Publish Immediately,” and so I can have this automatically publish at a certain time. Pretty cool. Anyway, I’m here to link you to other “happenings” in the XNA Rpg field (which isn’t a very large one).

   The first, ShackRpg, is a blog by Craig Giles. He posts similar to me, but I should say I post similar to him: he’s been around much longer than I have. Also, he likes to add a lot of pictures to accompany his posts, which I suppose is a good thing. While his tile engine is very basic, his combat and menus are not. They are probably some of the best menus around. Also, if you want to get insight on how his Rpg functions, you can take a peek at his code. I’m a little annoyed he called it “first XNA Rpg,” but oh well.

   The next XNA Rpg guru is EvilNando. EvilNando has created a brilliantly designed proffesional-looking tile editor. In fact, I’m pretty sure that’s all it is. While I’m over here making sure my game can run the editor’s files, EvilNando is just making sure the editor works. And hey, that’s okay with me, as long as it looks as well as it does. It seems like eventually EvilNando will make the editor available as an exe, in fact, he might already have (considering I’m posting this a week in advance). Once he does, it will be relatively easy for people to implement the exported map data they get from the editor, and import it into the game. I say relatively because I haven’t seen his editor go ingame, so I don’t know how easy it is.

   The third and last, XNA Rpg, is a group of people that want to build upon the existing Rpg template found at the XNA creator’s club. I don’t think this is a very good idea – they want it to be a “learning experience,” and I don’t consider examining code “learning.” Regardless, I might join the group just to see how it turns out, and for the sheer fact that sometimes we have to go against our initial instincts. For me, I just think it’ll be a good way to work in a team environment.

   Well, that’s it, I have to go. I’ll be back oline in a week or so. See you later! 😛

~ by IG on July 2, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
